Help with starting 1st reef tank

Dolphin

Reefing newb
Hi newbie here. I’m starting my first saltwater reef tank and I have a few question. I bought a used 55 gal saltwater set up that I will use some of the stuff that came with it to start up. The light is a Coralife Aqualight with 2 Coralife 10,000K 65 watt lights & 2 Actintc 65 watts. The skimmer is a Seaclone 150 & Maxi-jet for pump. Then 2 Koralia turbo pumps for flow in tank. I also got a heater and all the cleaning supplies that I will need. Any thoughts on this stuff? Now I’m planning on buying more items that I need. I’m doing a 20 gal sump. I’m thinking mag 7 for the return pump. Glass holes. com for the overflow bow. I also need help on what kind of reef salt, test kit, Refactometer, and chemicals I need to get started. Thanks for all the help.

Last edited:
Hi and welcome!
The api liquid test kits are amazing. You shouldn't need any chemicals. Do you have an R/O unit? Are you planning on getting one?
Otherwise, it's off to the store to grab 55 jugs, or, you can buy your water premixed. I do. It's expensive as heck tho..
Other people will chime in about the sump and overflow box. I don't use either so I am no help there.
How old are the bulbs? I'd look into replacing them as they are used.

The SeaClone skimmer is totally worthless sadly you'll want to replace that. I've gone through 3 skimmers (2 of which will be up for sale in December) so far and just bought a fourth for the new tank, so take the time to research that one and pick the best one you can afford. Typically you want to size for one tank size larger than your water volume. So if you have around 75 gallons total water volume you'll want a skimmer sized for like 120 or so.