Hey all...

potluckstew

Reefing newb
I'm new to saltwater tanks and am looking for a place to get some "expert" advice every once and a while. Looks like you all have your act together on this site. I have a small 38 gallon tank with a Fluval filter. I thought that was expensive until I saw some of your set ups. I'll get there eventually.
So far I have a few Damsels, a chocolate chip starfish, 1 medium and 2 small anenomes, and 1 skunk cleaner shrimp. The tank is only 5 weeks old and I'm taking it slow so that it will set up properly. I did try to add a clown fish but it died this morning. I have to look at my parameters again to see if something is off. But to the best of my knowledge, everything is in the green. Is there anything obvious that I should be looking for as I'm concerned that the clown died so quickly and all the other "pets" are thriving?

Thanks in advance and I love the website. Keep up the great work.

As always check your parameters. If they are fine (test kits are a death trap) go back to the lfs and see if they have any sick fish that were housed with yours prior to purchase. Also how did you acclimate the fish before adding it to your tank. Most people just float the fish like you do for freshwater. Thats bad JU-JU. Hope this helps, im sure others will weigh in here.

Tony

You are stocking too quickly. your system does not have the maturity to be adding more live stock at this point. My recommendation is to see if you can keep everything alive for three months before adding any more bio load otherwise, be aware of the new tank syndrom. welcome to the forum, I will watch for your posts in the regular foums. Glad you found us.

Welcome to the board ....