Hey guys this is What I'm starting with...

Droskie20

where's nemo?
So I'm new to this hobby, I just have a 30 gallon tank now on my to do list is filter, water, sand, lights, and rocks I can use all the help you guys can give me or advise...

Last edited:
I was writing a couple tips for a friend who is buying a tank. Ill share it with you. Veteran reef keepers, chime in, let me know if anything im saying is dumb.

Things you need to buy BEFORE fish:
• Test kits (get one that does PH, Ammonia, Nitrites, and Nitrates. This will get you started)
• Hydrometer/refractometer (these are used to test how much salt is in your tank. Hydrometers are cheap but inaccurate, refractometers are accurate but expensive. When you are just starting, a hydrometer is fine but plan on upgrading in 6 months)
• Salt! (Red Sea is great. Don’t get the crap at petco, go to one of the fish stores I have listed)
• Substrate (This is sand or crushed gravel or rock. I gave you some but you want about a 3-4” sandbed)
• All in all, you are looking at about $100 before you can get fish. This will ensure you don’t kill anything!
Things to buy after you get fish:
• More flow/wavemaker (these are usually powerheads. Get 2 good Hydor Koralis and their wavemaker. This will keep all the water in your tank moving so you don’t have “dead zones” where stuff piles up. This will run you around $200-$2000 for a really really awesome setup)
• More test kits (if you want to get into corals or if you are going to put pricy fish in your tank, get the next set of test kits. They are worth every penny because they keep your fish safe and happy.)
• Clean Up Crew or CUC (snails, crabs, worms, these things will keep your tank clean from algae and dead stuff)
• LED light upgrade (this is not necessary but LEDs will be better in the long run for your fish tank and your electric bill!)