Hey Peeps

devon9832

Reefing newb
I'm Devon and i just purchased a 90g saltwater reef ready aquarium. I have put live sand, cured live rocks and some hermit crabs in the tank. I am going to put some uncured liverock in the tank on friday to help it cycle quicker so that i can add fish! I'm not sure if i want to get into the corals or not. I kno that its prettier but from what i understand my fish options are limited. I need some advice on how to make sure everything is running smoothly.

i am a complete noob when it comes to this. I have had a freshwater tank before, but from what i understand this is nothing like a freshwater. Any insight will be great. I will do my share of research as well.

Check out the articles section for basic tank settup. That would be probably the best info you can get

Welcome to the reef and ask any questions that you come across.

Welcome to the site Devon.
Since you already have cured rock,dont add any un-cured rock.The ammonia from the die off will kill all the good stuff in the cured rock right along with your hermits.

Welcome to the site Devon.
Since you already have cured rock,dont add any un-cured rock.The ammonia from the die off will kill all the good stuff in the cured rock right along with your hermits.

oh ok. Well i was told that i needed to have that un-cured rock in there to speed up the cyclin process. This was from a reputable saltwater fish store. I only have about 24lbs of liverock in there now. Under this one rock, there is a big ass hermit crab that came with the rock i got and he left his shell out and he things the rock is his new shell.lol. he refuses to come out. But I have two powerheads, one 400gph and one thats like 200gph. I have the bigger one at the top of the tank and the smaller one at the bottom of the tank in the back. Do i need anything else? I have the protein skimmer hooked up and running as well as the filtration system thats underneath the tank.