Hi everyone, new to reefs, got a few questions

BCReefer

pro stoner, newb reefer
Hi everyone,
Ive had my reef tank going for 6 months now and i seem to have more questions now than when i started, so any and all advice is welcome.

I'm running a 55 gal tank right now with 7 small fish and i just bought a couple corals. Protein skimmer is a jebo in-tank jobby, I was told its good to 90 gal so it seems it should do the trick. I just upgraded my light to a 216W T5, with 2 daytime lights, 2 actinic blue guys and some moon lights. I also have an air pump and air stone going on the same timer as the lights, it seems to make the fish livelier in the day and helps em calm down at night.

Everything I add in gets added slowly because I'm a student and cant afford to spend $200 on live rock for example.

K to the questions:

My nitrate seems to always be higher than i'd like it, like between 10-20 ppm and despite too many water changes i just cant seem to get it down. So Im wondering if the following are reasons why...

Wondering what the difference is between "live sand" and gravel? The fish store lady said regular aquarium gravel would do the trick but everyone thats serious about reef tanks seems to have finer sand. Something to do with nitrates?

Similarly, the difference between "live rock" and real rock is unknown to me. I have about 10-15 pounds of live rock and about twice that much regular shale and sandstone rock to make more places to hide for the fish. I've read that live rock helps the filtering and amounts to less maintenance. But i just cant justify spending a few hundred bucks on rocks. Every once in a while i buy a small uncultured piece of live rock and add it in. So my questions are how long does it take to culture this rock and what are its benefits compared to other rock, and is it worth spending the money ?