Hi Everyone

lilyicu

FOWLR
I am new to the saltwater world but currently have a 125g freshwater cichlid tank and a 10g fry tank. I am trying to get all of my equipment together for a 72g bowfront saltwater tank. I have read one book and have two more on the way. I have a question, I read in the book about making sure you have air stones in the tank. I currently have two bubble curtains in my 125g. I don't see any bubbles on the tank pictures on the site. Do you have to have the air pump and air stones? I will have an Eheim 2217 filter and a ventari protein skimmer along with 2 powerheads. Any help is appreciated. I love forums!! :)

Welcome to the site.
Bubbles arent good in saltwater.They cause a lot of salt creep which just looks nasty.Plus the airstones produce micro-bubbles that can get stuck to the fishies gills.
Just make sure you have a decent ripple along the water surface and you'll have plenty of gas exchange.

Powerheads = yes, airstones = no. If you have a 72 gallon tank, you will probably need 2 to 4 powerheads, depending on their strength. Airstones really don't serve a purpose in saltwater. And like Yote said, the bubbles can be detrimental to the animals.

Thank you so much for the help. I am glad that I asked. The book (Saltwater Aquariums for Dummies) really pushed the airstones and air pumps. Now I can make a good return to my LFS.

Welcome to the site. Glad you found us. You may also want to visit our articles forum. Just click on the Articles at the top of the page. You will find a lot of information that will explain things a bit about the saltwater hobby, equipment, startup, etc. good luck and again welcome.

It is the second edition from 2007. I returned the air pump and air stones yesterday. My venturi protein skimmer came in the mail today so I had a chance to play with it. Everything is starting to come together.