Hi im a newbie!

Blazeybird

Reefing newb
Hey all Im new here! I am currently getting ready to set up my first salt aquarium (still in the research/getting prices/info stage) and so I found this awesome forum! Here is what I have/and what im planning on doing/getting!

(what I have)
29gall
standard fluorescent lighing
2 filter.. one 40 power and 1 15 power
Heater
160 gph power head (on lowest setting)

(what I plan on)
about..22 pounds of live rock (found at drs.fosterandsmith...I might add more later but this is to start with)
agriate (sp) and either all that or maybe a base of crushed coral?
test kit
hydromiter
salt
(fish stalk)
im going to push it here....so bear with me..this is just a compiled list of what I would like!

2 perc clownfish
1-2 yellow tailed damsel
1-3 green chromis
fire fish
royal gramma
purple pseduidea (sooo sp just a guess)
watchman goby
citron clown goby
(I know I cant put ALL those fish in one tank but thats what my and the fam like thats small enough..their are plenty of bigger fish that I love but cant have :frustrat: )
hermit crabs
snailes
cleaner shrimp

and MAYBE some LOW LOW light corals and maybe an anemmone?

Thanks for all your help
:mrgreen:

sounds like your on the right track.

I might rethink the adding a damsel or the pseudochromis as they get a bit territorial and could cause you some problems.

Also an anemmone isn't a low light Invert and infact requires pretty heavy lighting I would say medium to high.

Hope this helps you get started and welcome to the forums.

You might consider a protein skimmer too, power filters don't do very well compared to protein skimmers and nitrates tend to build up on the filter media. As for the damsels, yellow tailed blue damsels are not nearly as aggressive as other kinds. Definitely stay away from blue, domino, and the striped damsels, they will go so far as to kill other fish. I think a couple red or purple firefish would go well with a pair of clowns in your tank though.