Hi, i'm new and need a bit of direction..

Saponaceous

Reefing newb
So, im new to this whole salt water thing. Ive done a few fresh water ones in the past.
I'm using this site to help further my knowlege of what im trying to attempt to do.
I've done tons of research and it's making me go crazy. Then I read instructions on things i buy, and im going even more crazy.
So as is, im new. I live in Hawaii where my resources are pretty abundant. (salt water, sand, ect) I have a 29 gal tank that is sitting on a stand empty because I cannot decide where to start:frustrat:. I have in posession;
Aqueon Power Filter.
Aquaclear 301 Powerhead.
29 gal rectangle tank.
100w Heater.
Light/ hood.
Undergravel Filter.
Substrate from the beach thats not fine and not big.
Sun bleached coral.

If Someone could point me in the right direction, i'd appreciate it.
Id like to be able to make a reef tank for my son without being completely overwhelmed.
(I have no room for a sump and im still confused about the whole skimmer thing.) heh thanks again for viewin this.

I dont think id put beach sand in a contained environment like that, who knows whats been in it, on it. I would buy some substrate the size is your own personal preference. Just add some sand, pre mixed salt water from ro/di water. Some Dead and live rock throw your heater in there set to around 78 and let it cycle. Putting the powerhead in while your tank is cycling wouldnt hurt either keep some stuff from building up. I have no experience with undergravel filters but from what ive read they are not to useful. Hopefully someone else will chime in and give you some better pointers. I wish you luck! I also read that keeping corals in a tank is illegal in Hawaii. Is this true? I dont know why it would be, but someone told me that once.