Hi!

Kylekaitmom

Reefing newb
I am new to saltwater. I am doing the best I can for my son. He is autistic and has always wanted his own reef. I bought an established 68 gal reef tank last month and except for a few minor hiccups it has gone ok. Until last night. The center support fell off on one side! Now i am freaked. Hopefully I can get it repaired.

I finally bought the tank bc finances had gotten stable. I was going to buy a RO/DI unit this month, but we were dealt a huge blow. Tricare is no longer going to cover my son's occupational therapy. This is going to cost us 1500$ a month out of pocket now. There goes my RO/DI budget. I am crushed. I think I may have to give up the big tank and just keep the biocube I bought used bc my son wanted to sleep downstairs with the fish. I set up the 14 gal biocube in his room so he is happy. I don't know how to tell him the big tank needs to go. I am crushed. He has opened up so much and actually enjoys spending time in the living room with us now. He has even shown EMpAtHY for the fish in his care, this is HUGE for my son. He is diligently caring for a new hippo tang in our QT tank and even begged her not to die when she got covered in ich. She is doing well in hypo saline conditions now. I don't know what the right thing to do is.

In my 68- Scopas Tang (not the most colorful, but he is the funniest by far)
Three Stripe Damsel
Small Clownfish
Coral Banded Shrimp
Mushrooms, green star polyps, nothing fancy
Hermits and snails and bristle worm CUC

Biocube- B/w Clownfish
Yellow Headed Jawfish
Tail Spot Blenny
Cleaner Shrimp
Pompom Crab
Birdsnest, Orange Riccordea, misc Zoas, Pink Stylo SPS, Pink Xenia, Frogspawn
Tiny hermits, snails, tiny brittle sea stars CUC

10 gal QT- 2inch Hippo Tang (sg: 1.009)

Welcome aboard! I am sorry to hear about your finance troubles after setting up the tank.