HOB refugium w/skimmer

chiqui bb

Reefing newb
I haven't had much luck with the LFS in my area and the local club (Rockford Reefers) has been a disappointment as well so I found a guy in the yellow pages that seems to be a good source of information. He actually runs a business that supplies offices and homes with saltwater tanks and maintains them. Says he has been doing this for 20+ years. I went to his home/business and liked what I saw. I wanted to get information about adding zoanthids and clams to my tank but he cautioned me about my filtration and lighting. He recommends upgrading my 55 gal tank to this:

CPR Refugium W/skimmer
Small - 19 1/4 " x 3 3/4" x 14 5/8" - $260.00
Large - 23 1/2" x 3 3/4" x 14 5/8" - $350.00

Anyone have experience with this unit? Should I get the small or large? Are his prices ok? Anyone have a different recommendation?

I am new to the hobby and don't have a clue!

I just posted my opinion on this same question yesterday in another thread. The thread is located here:
https://www.livingreefs.com/hob-skimmer-and-refugium-t22457.html

Copy/paste from that thread:
I've used a few different HOB refugiums with the built in skimmer. They work fine.

Smaller:
http://shop.aquatraders.com/Hang-On-...in-p/43016.htm

I have that one ^^^^^^^^^^^ and used it on a 10g fraq tank for about a year. Recently moved it to the new 29g frag system until I save up the cash for an in-sump skimmer. It works good. Supply your own pump. I like the M1200.

Larger:
http://shop.aquatraders.com/Hang-On-...in-p/43017.htm

This is hanging on the back of my 30H display:
CPR Aquatics Aquafuge Large W/Protein Skimmer

I like that one a lot. ^^^^^^^^ Fits perfect on the back of a 30H or a 20H. Was 1/2 that price when I bought mine. Acrylic prices doubled in the last year.