how many lbs?

Discussion in 'Corals' started by jman, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. jman

    jman

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pense, Saskatchewan, Canada
    In a 90-100 gallon tank how many lbs of coral should i be getting?
     
    jman, Mar 2, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jman

    salt_for_brains Alabama Reefer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Leroy, Alabama
    There is no certain amount of coral. Do you mean live rock?
     
    salt_for_brains, Mar 2, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jman

    jman

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pense, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Yes sorry. I meant live rock
     
    jman, Mar 2, 2013
    #3
  4. jman

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Its a common practice to run as many pounds to how many gallons. Some add a sump to put more lr for added filtration
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Mar 2, 2013
    #4
  5. jman

    salt_for_brains Alabama Reefer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Leroy, Alabama
    Live rock is a biological filter for your water so 1lb- 1-1/2lbs per gallon of water is the rule of thumb. You can buy mostly dry rock and seed it with some live rock to cut down on costs.
     
    salt_for_brains, Mar 2, 2013
    #5
  6. jman

    jman

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pense, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Nick- you said some add a sump, does this mean i dont necessarily need a sump?
     
    jman, Mar 2, 2013
    #6
  7. jman

    Neno reefs

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    15
    No you dont need a sump if you dont want one... I have a 35g tank and i dont run a sump.
     
    Neno reefs, Mar 2, 2013
    #7
  8. jman

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    You dont need a sump, but most people use them to get everything awau from the dt. It provides natural filtration, and i believe is under the "safest" method
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Mar 2, 2013
    #8
  9. jman

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Buying dry rock is the cheapest, it will take up to 6 months work for the water to penitrate tjat far down for stable waters.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Mar 2, 2013
    #9
  10. jman

    jman

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pense, Saskatchewan, Canada


    what do you mean by "safest"?
     
    jman, Mar 2, 2013
    #10
  11. jman

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    They do make grounding straps, but if your heater fails, pump fails, it is away from your fish and inverts. It only takes milliamps to kill fish and with plastic pipes( to and from display tank) that eliminates that worry. Lets use the word natural. You can use cheato and add tons of lr to bump up your bio filtration. Less rock in display equals easier to spot your fish. Pound per gallon, honestly im my opinion, in the display tank doesnt leave you with a hole lot of room
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Mar 2, 2013
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.