I am a grandpa 8 times!

Gooseman

Reefing Is An Obsession
8 new Banggai Cardinal baby's were born last night ... sorry for the crudeness of the pics ... its difficult to photo them when they are swimming wildly

3.jpg

4.jpg

Wow that's awesome! Is this the first time that they've been carried "to term"? Really great! I hope you can get some cool pics.

I have had them carry full term before but never saw them in the tank before ... i just happened to see my Red Velvet Wrasse chasing something and when i looked it was a newborn ... i have another cardinal carrying right now and hope to be able to capture those as well ... it is very difficult to know when they will drop them and be ready ... i may have just gotten lucky this time

i have set up a hospital tank for the babies but as far as catching mom or dad thats carrying ... not gonna happen ... i have been chasing cardinals for 8 months or better trying to catch them ... only way i will get them out of the DT is to remove all the LR and thats not gonna happen with the coral in there ... so i will do my best to raise the babies and hope for the best ... i will add a few more pics or a short video soon

When you see that daddy cardinal has a mouth full its usually about 24 days before the babies will be spit out.

You can catch him before he spits out his babies, I've done this many times in my reef tanks. At night make sure it is very very dark, get a spot light and have someone shine him with the light, he will freeze like a deer in the head lights, scoop him out and he should spit the young ones out in the net.