I am now an entrepreneur!

Melonbob

Reef enthusiast
Well, I got a copy of my Masters business Licence in the mail today, so I am officially a small business owner. I had started selling coral out of my frag tank, and because there is only one LFS up here, word spread fast. I started doing a very brisk business, until I got a visit from the bylaw officer! A complaint had bee put in (I'm guessing who), so I had to take a break and get everything in order. Now I'm up again, but it looks like I'll have to expand a bit. I'm thinking 4 - 48" tanks and from there I could use a little input as to how you guys would set this up strictly for selling coral and fish! I'm so jazzed

i would tie them all into one large sump, only if your only selling coral, if your selling fish and coral it would be best to tie them into two different sumps. that way you can run copper on the fish and not kill the corals. get the best skimmer you can afford for the coral tank. and be willing to drop some MAJOR cash so the wholesalers will respect you and actually give you a crack at there good stuff

you were reading my mind, I was definately thinking of setting up as two different systems. I can get a hold of 4' and 3' tanks at a ridiculous price, and going from there. The shops I've been to that really impressed me had tanks at about stomach level, where you could look into the top with glass viewing boxes. I am already doing very well with my old 46, but it doesn't hold enough when I have to travel 4 hrs to coral shop, I'd like to stock up more

looking down is diffently a good idea because i do that at my LFS to their coral tanks but you have to be careful with that because if you have a ton of flow at the top rippiling the surface then it could be hard to see the corals and if the tanks are at stomach level then people arent going to bend down

I wish you luck Melonbob.