i bet this is a stupid question

chrispaloma

Reefing newb
i'm relatively new to all this... been doing it about a year... my knowledge is made up of mostly a combination of advice from others and online research... so....

i've got an established tank and have introduced corals... i have a candy cane coral, yellow polyps, a few random reddish mushrooms that came on some live rock pieces, and some hammer/anchor coral... they are all surviving very well.

i was led to beleive that some/most/all of these corals would flourish/reproduce throughout my tank. someone even warned me that i would have to take care to make sure they didn't take over the tank. however after two months all of the corals are pretty much the exact same size as when purchased.

what do i need to make them grow and/or reproduce?

thanks for any and all input...

paloma

You cant exactly "make" your corals grow... some corals grow VERY slow

A few things that promote growth are:
1. Good powerful lighting
2. Good water flow in the tank
3. Good water quality (low ammonia, nitrates, phosphates, etc.)
4. Positioning in the tank (placement so coral received appropriate light and flow)
5. Good general tank maintenance

Many websites that sell coral will have coral "needs" as in if it needs a lot of light, medium light, low light, how much flow, etc.

Overall, corals are finicky and act weird... my frogspawn coral that i bough as a 1 head frag was in the same position for almost a year and didnt grow noticeably at all, but then over the span of 4-6 weeks went from one head to 4. Some corals are just weird like that.

Hope this helps.

You cant make corals grow and puffer is right, follow those guidelines and you will get growth.