I failed at copepod cultivation

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by Altohombre, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. Altohombre

    Altohombre The Tennis Pro Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Highland Park, NJ
    boy was I proud of myself when I set up this copepod harvesting tank. It was really exciting watching them swim all around and the thoughts of them reproducing. Well after about 2 weeks they were all dead. Not really sure what killed them. The only thing that I could have done differently was add a air tube to give it water movement, but when I tried setting mine up it was so loud like a vibrating boat engine that I couldn't do it. The water had good green color to it and everything. Damn!:frustrat:
     
    Altohombre, Apr 20, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Altohombre

    ndepratt Equipment Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    just a small powerhead agitating the surface of the water should be sufficient.
     
    ndepratt, Apr 20, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Altohombre

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    was the harvesting tank connected to the main tank or was is isolated? Not sure exactly what would cause it if the tanks were connected. but if not, im guessing it was water quality, not the airtube... im just guessing
     
    cthegame, Apr 20, 2009
    #3
  4. Altohombre

    ndepratt Equipment Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    since the water in the tank was green, it was probably another tank.
     
    ndepratt, Apr 20, 2009
    #4
  5. Altohombre

    Altohombre The Tennis Pro Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Highland Park, NJ
    It was a 5 gallon tank completely separate from my main tank. I used water from my tank and added DT's Phyto to it and then added the pods. From what I read room temperature would be fine. I read some say that an air tube should be used and another that said in a small tank it is not needed.
     
    Altohombre, Apr 22, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.