If you could build the ultimate sump ?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Lesely, Sep 28, 2014.

  1. Lesely

    Lesely

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Australia
    If you could build the ultimate sump, what would it include ?
    If you could change 1 think about your current sump what would that be and why ?
    How many chambers, what size in ratio to your tank ?
    What would you run in those chamber, in what order & why ?
    Lets see those sump pictures !
    Thanks
     
    Lesely, Sep 28, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Lesely

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    At the moment I would add a sump. I don't have room for one at the moment.
     
    Aquarian, Sep 28, 2014
    #2
    Lesely likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Lesely

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,849
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    fastrd400, Sep 28, 2014
    #3
    Aquarian and Lesely like this.
  4. Lesely

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    mariobrothersleeve, Sep 28, 2014
    #4
    Aquarian likes this.
  5. Lesely

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    4 chambers. Return, fuge, frag, and skimmer.
    I'm running 1/1 ratio, so no good input.
    It also all depends on the room you can work with.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Sep 28, 2014
    #5
  6. Lesely

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,849
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Huh?
     
    fastrd400, Sep 28, 2014
    #6
  7. Lesely

    Marinne13 Northern Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    I am running a 3 chamber 48' sump/fuge on my 180...I love it, it's an acrylic kit that my husband and I made
     
    Marinne13, Sep 28, 2014
    #7
  8. Lesely

    Lesely

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Australia
    I asked this questions on another forum and it seems popular to run skimmer last, why is that ? I run my skimmer first, the way i look at it is it takes out a lot of shit before it goes through the other forms of filtration ? Is there a best way or should i say a right way ?
     
    Lesely, Sep 28, 2014
    #8
  9. Lesely

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,849
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I run my skimmer in the middle of my 3 chamber sump. Though the one I posted earlier is set up to run in the first chamber which if I had a preference is where I would run mine. Thus, why I am buying a Trigger Sump.
     
    fastrd400, Sep 29, 2014
    #9
    Aquarian and Lesely like this.
  10. Lesely

    ReeferRob

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    386
    I've been using MM for a while now myself. If I had access to live Indo mud, there would be some of that in my fuge. ;)

    I make my sumps as large as will fit under the tank to include a refugium area, pre-filtration and room for a skimmer.
     
    ReeferRob, Oct 3, 2014
    #10
    Lesely likes this.
  11. Lesely

    Lesely

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Australia
    Lots of great feedback & ideas. Thank you. Decision made. ! Thank you !
     
    Lesely, Oct 3, 2014
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.