Ignorant First Time Reef Aquarist

tribes

Reefing newb
i'm brand new to reef aquariums and am looking to transform my brackish tank to saltwater over the next couple of months. i've done a good deal of research on my own and even gone to several different reef shops in the area. my problem is that pretty much everyone tells me conflicting advice and i don't have a clear consensus on a issues. i'll fill you in on the details,

my current set up: 20 gallon half bow aquarium with heater, air pump w/bubble walls, a large drip filter, and a 15w fluorescent bulb. it has been set up about 3 weeks now with just sand as substrate and a couple of juvenile brackish puffers. currently the salinity is 1.015 and i plan to increase it more soon and remove the puffers.

now i understand i'll likely have to get a much higher watt bulb and reflective hood if i want anemone/reef and also would need a power head/protein filter. i feel like i sort of have some basics down and some of the "what not to do's" but when it comes to the actual methods i'm completely ignorant. and the reef stores i've been to the people have been very short and arrogant with my questions/assumptions as a newb.

so here are my main questions:
1. with a 20 gallon tank is it absolutely critical that i -
a: have a power head (there is alot of current in the tank already with bubble walls/a large drip filter),
b: have a protein filter with such a large drip filter already,
c: have a higher wattage hood for higher watt bulbs since the tank is small.
d. if i need a new hood/light, power head/protein filter, or anything else what should i be looking for in regards to a 20 gallon tank?

2. i don't understand how i should go about getting my aquarium ready to introduce live rock and reef materials like crushed coral and then what to do/how long to wait before i introduce inverts/anemone.