I'm finally ready to start!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by sebastio12, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    It is at my budget and it looks pretty good. I want a 100+ tank, but right now isn't the time, hopefully after I graduate I can start building my dream tank.

    I now need a return pump, he had a mag 7 on before and it worked. Any suggestions on a quiet pump?

    Thanks guys, and girl
     
    sebastio12, Dec 16, 2009
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. sebastio12

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Mags are great pumps. I also have been using Eheims for years -- they are excellent and quiet. Rio Hyperflows are quite a bit cheaper and a lot of people have been really happy with them too. A lot of people stand by the Quiet One brand of pumps.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 16, 2009
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. sebastio12

    AlwaysImproving

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA
    Not only is that not a bad price but I think that it is a pretty good deal. If it were local to me I would hop on it.
     
    AlwaysImproving, Dec 16, 2009
    #23
  4. sebastio12

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I use the Quiet One pumps and would recommend one. They are quiet. ;)
     
    dcantucson, Dec 16, 2009
    #24
  5. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    Great, i need something quiet cause the tank is going in my room.

    And I think it's a good price too, a new tank and hood alone would cost just about that.

    Thanks guys
     
    sebastio12, Dec 16, 2009
    #25
  6. sebastio12

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    I don't care how quiet you make a tank, I don't think it can be quiet enough for a bedroom.
     
    sen5241b, Dec 16, 2009
    #26
  7. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    Alot of people keep tanks in bedrooms, I have one in mine right now and up to now it's been pretty quiet, not silent, but it's not bad. And I've seen some pretty silent tanks too, hopefully it'll work out fine.
     
    sebastio12, Dec 16, 2009
    #27
  8. sebastio12

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    My Red Sea Max is very quiet. And it's in the bedroom!
     
    dcantucson, Dec 16, 2009
    #28
  9. sebastio12

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    My 125 is in my bedroom and I never notice the noise it makes,until its NOT making noise.Then I know somethings wrong somewhere.
     
    yote, Dec 16, 2009
    #29
  10. sebastio12

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Good point. We get use to the noise don't we? :D
     
    dcantucson, Dec 17, 2009
    #30
  11. sebastio12

    EliWhitney314 Phish Head

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Baden, PA
    I have two tanks in my bedroom. The 75 is fairly loud though, I just need to switch the filter impeller.
     
    EliWhitney314, Dec 17, 2009
    #31
  12. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    I'm picking up the tank today, but I have a couple questions. The tank is being broken down right now, but he told me he would leave the 60 pounds of live sand in the tank.

    Can I put it in buckets or a big trash bag and still keep it alive?

    When I bring it home, can I just transfer my tank into there (water, sand and animals), since that live sand is cyled and my sand is cycled, it would be like doing a 50% water change right?

    Also, can I keep my fish and shrimp in seperate zip-lock bags while I work on the new tank?

    Thanks :)
     
    sebastio12, Dec 18, 2009
    #32
  13. sebastio12

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    You can place the sand in buckets without a problem. Just keep it covered with water. Ziplock bags are not big enough for fish and they could easily suffocate. They need a bucket or tote with a heater and power head if out of the tank more than just to transfer.
     
    dcantucson, Dec 18, 2009
    #33
  14. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    How long should I wait before putting the fish back in?

    I was thinking of this small 5 gal tote to put them in, all there is in the tank is a clown, two shrimp, two hermit crabs and snail. Is that too small?
     
    sebastio12, Dec 18, 2009
    #34
  15. sebastio12

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    That tote will work just fine for what you've got.
    One thing you'll want to do,is wash the sand out good.When you start scooping it out and moving it around,your going to release all kinds of nasty crap that can kill the tank.
     
    yote, Dec 18, 2009
    #35
  16. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    Wash it how? Just run water through it, or let it settle in the tank?
     
    sebastio12, Dec 18, 2009
    #36
  17. sebastio12

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Run fresh clean water through it until the water is clear.
    What I did when I transfered my stuff,was put the sand in 5 gallon buckets.Then I took the water hose outside and kept enough flow to churn the sand until the water coming over the sides of the buckets was fairly clean.
    You dont want to churn the sand so much that the sand pours over the bucket rim,just the waste thats trapped in the sand.You'll be able to see which is which when you start.
     
    yote, Dec 18, 2009
    #37
  18. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    So what happens to the pods and good bacteria, won't it flow away?
     
    sebastio12, Dec 18, 2009
    #38
  19. sebastio12

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Yep.But its a small price to pay for the prevention on a full out ammonia off the charts cycle when you've got animals in the tank.
     
    yote, Dec 19, 2009
    #39
  20. sebastio12

    sebastio12 Living Reefs Student

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl USA
    How about if I wait a couple weeks, I was planning on leaving it running two weeks alone.
     
    sebastio12, Dec 19, 2009
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.