Industrial Fish Tank Automation

Dakwan

Reefing newb
Because I'm a giant nerd and clearly do all I can to avoid meeting women, i'm starting a project to automate my fish tank.

I'm an industrial automation engineer so this is going to be done to industry standards with industrial electrical equipment... no little dinky microcontrollers for me!

Luckily i think i'll be able to scrounge up enough stuff in our shop and by sweet talking distributors for samples that the only things i'll probably have to shell out for is the various instrumentation (looking at transmitters for temperature, salinity, nitrates and pH)

I thought i'd catalog my journey in this thread since this audience is likely the only one out there that would appreciate my efforts :D Even if you arn't into the technical side of things maybe pop in a see you can think of neat things that I can include into the system.

In the end this will allow me to have individual control of every piece of equipment that is powered by electricity. So i can get rid of my bazillion timers and all that and do some neat stuff turn my power heads into wave makers, or program in modes like feeding or waterchange where i turn off pumps, power heads etc. Also will let me do things like de-activate heaters automatically if the temperature rises too high. I can also log everything so that i can see what goes on through out the course of the day.

If by some bizarre chance there is someone in the same industry as me or is interested in PLC's, i'm going to be running everything off of a MicroLogix 1100 likely or possibly a ControlLogix L55.

For the electrical cabinet i'm going to use a wooden cabinet, so when you open it up you'll see all the electrical wiring mounted on a metal back pan.

I/O and Alarms List
http://www.dakwan.ca/IO&Alarms.xlsx
I/O drawings
http://www.dakwan.ca/io-model.pdf

Alex - I think it's a lawnmower blenny or atleast a species related to it