Is a sump/refugium necessary?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by DavidA717, May 10, 2007.

  1. DavidA717

    DavidA717 Soon to be Reef Expert

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I was wondering if a sump or refugium was necessary. i know that its definitely a benefit, but if i am doing a 30 gallon or 20 gallon long, do i need a sump or refugium or am i ok with just live rock, protein skimmer, and mechanical filtration?
     
    DavidA717, May 10, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DavidA717

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You don't need a sump/fuge. But it's a nice thing to have. I went without one for about 10 months before I added one.
     
    Bifferwine, May 10, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DavidA717

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    A sump is not necessary.I had a setup for 5 years without one.A sump is good place to hide additional equipment(skimmers,heaters)and to incorporate other filtrations(refugiums,wet/dry).
     
    reeffreak, May 10, 2007
    #3
  4. DavidA717

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    You will be fine with out one. I have a 30 reef and I have never had one on it.
     
    bobby, May 10, 2007
    #4
  5. DavidA717

    DavidA717 Soon to be Reef Expert

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    ok, thanks guys
     
    DavidA717, May 10, 2007
    #5
  6. DavidA717

    RigoSharon LIVING REEFS INTERN

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    i agree with my colleagues...i only run mine with a skilter 250 protein skimer..a powerhead.. and a dynaflo hangover filter.....just monitor your parameters regulary and weekly water changes....if later your planing on having a sump that will be cool too...im planing on setting one up in the near future....good luck...
     
    RigoSharon, May 10, 2007
    #6
  7. DavidA717

    pinstripes

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I wasnt sure if should I answer this post because of your Red Soxs. They are torturing us this year. But Its not a must have. Its just to put your skimmer, heater, and other equipmentd into one setup underneath your tank to make it look better but it does improve your tank parameters according to my research. Buts its optional!!
     
    pinstripes, May 10, 2007
    #7
  8. DavidA717

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Ive been running my 30 right at a year now without a sump,and my 55 doesnt have a sump(YET).
    I will be adding a sump sometime over the weekend though.
     
    yote, May 11, 2007
    #8
  9. DavidA717

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    I am a fan of my 30 gal sump for my 125 gallon tank. It gives you more forgiveness for your parameters and a place to keep your equipment so the tank looks cleaner. I had two filters that I ran over the back along with a UV and a skimmer. It really looked tacky. Things not only look better, but are more stable. with a tank your size, I don't think it is critical, but I would look to add a 10 gal in the future. Good luck.

    -Dr Marco :sfish:
     
    Doc, May 11, 2007
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.