Is iodine a must?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by SalteeDogg, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. SalteeDogg

    SalteeDogg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx USA
    Since I have had the tank I have not put any iodine in the tank. I have a skimmer and I heard that it can remove all iodine out of the tank. Is this something I need to purchase and start putting in the tank daily or something? Any help would greatly be appreciated :question::D
     
    SalteeDogg, Dec 4, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SalteeDogg

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Iodine is essential for shrimp to molt their exoskeleton. It's also good for some inverts and corals. I test for it and try to keep my levels at about .04---.06ppm.
     
    Rcpilot, Dec 4, 2007
    #2
    SalteeDogg likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. SalteeDogg

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Unless you have shrimp and other inverts, no. Your salt mix should have iodine in it, if you do regular water changes it will replenish whatever is removed by the skimmer.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 4, 2007
    #3
    SalteeDogg likes this.
  4. SalteeDogg

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    if you use a premium salt, there will never be a reason to dose iodine. it is one of those things that you can OD your tank with and kill everything in it fast

    -Doc
     
    Doc, Dec 4, 2007
    #4
    SalteeDogg likes this.
  5. SalteeDogg

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    If your going to dose iodine,get a test kit for it.
    The only thing I use iodine for,is to dip soft corals in when I get a new one.
     
    yote, Dec 4, 2007
    #5
    SalteeDogg likes this.
  6. SalteeDogg

    SalteeDogg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx USA
    Ok thanks for all of the input. The guy told me tonight when I was getting another gsp that I need to start doing the iodine once a week and that it would be fine? He also said that I need to do Strontium once a week as well?
     
    SalteeDogg, Dec 5, 2007
    #6
  7. SalteeDogg

    ReefKeeper TalkingReef Live co-host

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    The Frag Farm
    he lied !! with regular water changes all of these minerals will be replenished with the new water. sounds like he wants your hard earned money to me.
     
    ReefKeeper, Dec 5, 2007
    #7
    SalteeDogg likes this.
  8. SalteeDogg

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Usually iodine dosing is needed if your heavy on the soft coral(debatable),inverts and macro algae.I wouldn't dose it unless you test for it first.So far,I don't have a need too and I'm heavy on the things listed.25% water changes a month seems to be enough to replenish it.So unless your skimmer is super,super awesome,I don't think you need to.
     
    reeffreak, Dec 5, 2007
    #8
  9. SalteeDogg

    Oscarsdad608

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    belleville,wi
    I used to have a lot of softies and shrimp and I never dosed iodine. I never had a problem in the three years I was keeping them. If you do regular waterchanges like stated before I don't think you need to worry about it. Never does anything without testing first. I was told that I needed to dose calcium everyday when I first started. I tested my calcium after about six months and it was off the freaking charts. Now I test for it and waterchanges pretty much take care of it with alittle dosing and I have alot of sps frag now.
     
    Oscarsdad608, Dec 5, 2007
    #9
  10. SalteeDogg

    fishbait I found Nemo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    southeast oklahoma
    I agree with the masses. water changes should keep up with it. and never dose anything you can't or don't test for first.
     
    fishbait, Dec 5, 2007
    #10
  11. SalteeDogg

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I think that guy HAS and IS majorly ripping you off. If I were you, I'd switch to a different LFS if there are other options in your area. I don't trust him one bit.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 5, 2007
    #11
  12. SalteeDogg

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    yeah, it sounds fishy about your LFS. we have no interest in selling you anything. I would listen to us first

    -Doc
     
    Doc, Dec 5, 2007
    #12
  13. SalteeDogg

    HAWKS12thMAN NWKRC THUG!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Cle Elum, WA
    Again I'm with the masses! Water changes and a new LFS. The only time my LFS tried to sell me iodine was for a coral dip if it had a bacterial infection.
     
    HAWKS12thMAN, Dec 5, 2007
    #13
  14. SalteeDogg

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    You got good advice. If you do water changes you will not have to dose, because you will renew it with every change you do.
     
    bobby, Dec 5, 2007
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.