Is my fish dying?! Please help!!!!

jennyk

Reefing newb
My damsel is sitting near the bottom of the tank a lot and he looks like he's breathing pretty heavily. Is he dying? This is my first time so I'm totally new and only know what I do from this forum and the aquarium store...but I'm freaking out! He's beautiful and calm I don't want him to be sick or suffering or die!

Stats:

15 gallon
5 trochus snails
yellow angelfish - who swims up and down like she's trying to escape near feeding time...is this normal?
fiji devil damsel - sickie?
purple dottyback
8 lbs. live rock
15 lbs. live sand
protein skimmer
heater
filter with biowheel

Snails have been in about a week and a half, put in the fish 3 days ago. Woke up this morning and noticed damsel is staying near the bottom. I've been checking the levels 3x a day and last night the nitrite was about 0.05 and the nitrate was about 10, couldn't get the bit of food they didn't eat out the first day so that plus bio-load is what contributed to the bit of spike I'm sure. I know how to properly feed now and only do bits at once to make sure not too much goes in. I did a water change of about 20% this morning and now the levels are as follows:

7.8 ph
1.023 salinity
220 kh
0.02 nitrite
5 nitrate
0.2 ammonia (which never spiked after putting the fish in...it's always been around there)

What can I do??

Did you add them all at once? That could have caused a spike which could have gotten your fish sick.

with a 15 gallon your really only limited to around two fish and it is too small for a yellow angelfish. Also you should be adding them one at a time with 2-3 weeks in between.

I did add them all at once.... the aquarium store said I could do three but no more. In any case, my levels never spiked really high, only the small spike like I mentioned, and he seemed totally fine when I went to bed last night. Is there anything I can do now?

What do you have in there for water movement?