is pvc primer and cement harmful for fish if you use it in your plumming

No, you HAVE to use primer and cement. Just make sure you get the correct kind for the type of PVC you are using.

I don't know it it is harmful or not, but I know you can't use PVC glue or primer on potable water, It is caustic. Knowing that I use CPVC pipe, primer, and glue for all my pluming. I think if it's not safe for me then it's not safe for my tank.

Potable: a liquid that is suitable for drinking.

I don't know it it is harmful or not, but I know you can't use PVC glue or primer on potable water, It is caustic. Knowing that I use CPVC pipe, primer, and glue for all my pluming. I think if it's not safe for me then it's not safe for my tank.

Potable: a liquid that is suitable for drinking.
Cpvc I believe is just a more heat resistant PVC. Both glues and primers are pretty caustic.

I am a plumber. I have seen plenty of PVC water supply services running into people's houses. It is used in potable water. It's just not used for water distribution within the house because it won't handle hot water.

I'm a project manager and in CT you can not use PVC on potable water. Not to argue the point but that's is why I don't use PVC. You can use copper pipe on potable water and I wouldn't think of using that on a tank. Just my 2c ;)

Not to pick a fight, but are you sure that's not just a state regulation? I know we have bullshit laws here, too. Like using 2 seperate head boards over garage doors. Cuz that makes sense...

I have a feeling that the code is to prevent its use on hot water lines. Since it is only rated for 140 degrees, and if there is a failure of the water heater, it could possibly reach over that temperature.

In Chicago, I believe that only copper is used for water lines in a house. One reason is that the PVC supposedly releases toxins when it burns (not that is your main concern if there is a fire).