I've never done more than a betta fish before. Any suggestions?

Star_Sapphire22

Reefing newb
Hi!

I'd like to get a saltwater aquarium for my boyfriend's birthday coming up in May. I've been shopping around, doing research and learning what I can...if you guys have any suggestions, I'd appreciate it. Especially on things like equipment, general care/setup info, and fish compatibility.

Right now we are looking at probably a 75 gallon, fish only with live rock tank. I am thinking an ocellaris clown as our first fish, and provided he can keep that alive for a while, a royal gramma, and after our tank is fully established, a green mandarin goby. We'd love to have as many fish as our bioload will allow, but I'm not sure how much our tank can handle. Is the inch per 10 gallon rule really accurate? I know pumps and filters and things like that affect it too...but if you think we could have more fish and have suggestions on what we should put in with those three species, let me know.

Any recommendations on brands or models of equipment to buy let me know as well. Preferably nothing too outrageously expensive. My budget will be $750-ish max (we are getting a free tank with stand from a friend who outgrew it).

Thank you so much!

Last edited:
Welcome and Hello. :D

I don't want to start out bursting your bubble, but a 75 gallon is too small for a yellow tang, much less three. A paiir of clowns would be a good set of fish to start out with, they are hardy and fairly easy (as far as sw fish go) to care for. Stay away from Damsels as they are extremely agressive and will attack any fish you add later.

You will need live rock to act as your bio filtration. Get dry rock (check out www.marcorocks.com) for good dry rock and add a piece or two of live rock to seed it. Dry rock will save you lots of $$$ and become live in no time.