JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube CF

DAvis

Reefer Madness
Hi all,

I like many of you had spent weeks researching what cube to buy! I am brand new to the Marine aquaria, though I have kept tropical freshwater aquaria for years. This summer, I pondered the idea of starting a saltwater tank, but seeing that many fish and corals were available as tank raised, I opted to investigate a reef tank. Fixing up old tanks for this seemed good money after bad so I opted to sell the old and buy the new!

I ended up choosing the JBJ 28 gallon NanoCube CF. It was a great package at $349. I got the tank, 105W CF actinic/6700K lighting, 2 x 266 gph Accela powerheads w/ wavemaker, a 3-4g open top 'sump' behind to house the return pumps, heater (not included), protein skimmer (not included) and 3-stage filter basket, 4-LED moonlights, and a slick looking stand. All for $349! It is now available for $299 with stand!

Pros: Elegant tank, 105W CF, highest output of any tank this size (unless you get metal halide), at almost 4W/Gallon, 4 LED's - tank looks great at night! Also, the hood has 2 cooling fans built in. Dual return pumps w/ wavemaker provide 10x turn over, and they can be run together without draining the sump.

Cons: Accela pumps a little noisy. Very difficult to retrieve pumps suction cupped to the bottom of the chamber! I made an extraction tool (after much swearing!). you can hear the cooling fans, but that is a gray noise, so not too bad.

All in all, I LOVE this tank. I might find a replacement for the Accelus pumps, but the noise isn't too bad. The problem is finding one to fit the small chamber. I will buy a different protein skimmer than the one JBJ sells, see equipment Forum on that.

Their customer service (JBJlighting.com) was excellent and replaced free of charge, the powerheads for me. The new ones are a little quieter. The vendor was MarineDepot. THis item shipped free, tank stand and all!