Just got a free tank, need help setting up

livefromheaven

Reefing newb
Hello,

I just got a 125 Gallon tank for some work that I did. I've had piranhas and other freshwater aquariums before but I'm new to a saltwater setup.

I've always wanted a moray eel and I think I have my heart set on a dragon moray. I understand I'll need a pretty robust filtration system and protein skimmer. Can anybody give me some exact specifications for what I'll need? It sounds like eels can produce a lot of waste.

I have a heater and lighting... Do I need an air pump? What else should I look for?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Welcome to the site AND the hobby.:D
Since you have your heart set on that Dragon Moray,keep in mind thats about all you'll be able to have in there.Those guys are super aggressive when their hungry.

For the filtration.Just set up a sump with a good skimmer.Then get some powerheads for the tank.Also dont forget the rock.Live rock will help keep the parameters in check.

Welcome to the site. Too new to offer any advice for you. But there are plenty of people who can. Look forward to seeing your tank.

Welcome! You are going to love it around here! Just start reading everyone's build threads and you will get so much help! Thats what I did!

Doesn't the dragon moray cost more than some tanks that size? A very nice looking species but your tank may look a bit empty. keep plenty of live rock in that tank to help with filtration. Be patient if the tank is new, it may take a while for it to become stable.

Dang what kind of work do you do? Welcome to the site and the hobby. Sorry I have never had a eel, so I cant tell you much about them. I have to agree with yote on the rock and sump. Cant go wrong there.

Thanks for the kind welcome everyone. The slogan is pretty accurate, this is the friendliest forum on the net.

I think my first step is getting an RO/DI unit to get the water going into it pure.