Just Started.....Need help

Sunshine

Reef enthusiast
Hi...I'm new to the saltwater world. I have a 46 gallon bowfront that we turned into a saltwater aq. It is a FOWLR. It has a Fluvel 304 for the filter. And I have an airstone. It has sand in it and 50 pounds of live rock. We cycled it with 3 green chromis. They all died. I now have 1 green chromis, 1 strawberry chromis, 1 sea urchin, 1 brown starfish, 4 snails and 4 crabs. I did have a blennie and a shrimp but they died also. They were in there about 2 weeks before they died. The tank is 6 weeks old. I've cleaned it 3 times since we set it up.

Someone told me I need a refugium with a skimmer. What is the purpose of the refugium ? They said I need more water flow. That is why my fish are dying. This is all new to me. I have a freshwater and a pond, I wanted to start small with a saltwater to see if I could do it before going bigger.

I don't want to buy anymore fish till I figure out what is wrong. Here are my test readings.
Nitrate 0
Nitrite 0
Ammonia 0
PH 8
KH 170
Salinity 1.022 Water temp 76---78
Thanks for any help you can give me.........

Wow,you added all that in that short of a time.One thing about this hobby is that it can't be rush.Thats probably one of the reasons by you had so many casualties.Stars and shrimps usually need very stable systems to survive.Even slight salinity changes can kill them.BTW,what kind of water are you using?

I think a skimmer is a must.I would at least plan on getting a decent one.Don't go cheap,its a very important equipment.I recommend an Octopus skimmer.

A refugium serves multiple purpose.Its a place for copepods to reproduce without threat from predators.Those pods serve as food for inverts/fish and beneficial in consuming detritus and even micro algae.Since deep sand beds in the display is ugly,people include it in a fuge to help in the reduction of nitrates.Macro algae in the fuge helps with nitrate reduction too.