Just wanted to say hello!

Funkymonk1984

Reefing newb
Hi Guys,

I am new to this Hobby (in that i actually havent started), i have been doing my much needed research into saltwater reef aquariums as i am in the process of buying my first house.

I love all sorts of animals such as reptiles (gf not having them in house :( ) and dogs (work long hours not fair on the dog to keep 1) and tropical fish (perfect).

I am fully aware of the dedication it takes and this is something i am looking forward too. My biggest barrier is finance, i have a good job i guess but with a new house comes cost so i am going to struggle to make this dream a reality.

That said time is on my side and i am happy to add equipment over months not days. I have listed below my thoughts on what is required before stabilising the chemistry and adding livestock;

Tank (50 gallons +)
Salt Mix (i may invest in a RO/IO so i can convert saltwater?)
Hydrometer/Refractometer (to measure salt levels)
Live Rock (50lbs ish)
Live Sand Substrate (2 inches deep)
100g Filtration
2x Powerheads
Heater
Lights
Protein Skimmer
Various Water Quality Testing Kit
Automatic Timers

In Future;
Sump Tank Filtration

Have i missed anything? Also do some tanks (New) come with powerheads etc attached?

1 of my biggest concerns is the look. I will be killed by my other half if i have tanks, tubes and buckets all over the living room so these cabinet based tanks, do they house everything?

Will i also need a hospital tank and isolation tank? if so what size?

I know there are a lot of questions here and i am reading all the time so i am sure i will answer them myself but would feel far more confident if i could get some expert opinions on here.

Thanks!
Phosphate Reactor