LFS Has Ponies - I Has Questions

Rcpilot

Reef enthusiast
I just returned from the LFS. They have 3 different types of sea horse. Irridatus? undulatus?

One species was dark dark gray - almost black. The others were brown/gray with spots. The largest were yellow with a single black band around the body.

Kinda cute. I'm plotting a tank rebuild on my 30H display. I was planning to go with all LPS corals. Can I keep ponies in a 24" deep tank with LPS corals?

Im no expert by any means but if I remember correctly from what I have read poneis do very well in taller tanks rather then wider ones. They require low flow rate and very well kept water conditions. Also they grab onto other objects like rocks, other ponies, or even corals. I have heard species specific tanks do the best and I have seen Platnium Clowns and Hammer Heads kept in a Pony Tank with no issues.

I know there are few pony experts on this site hope they can help you out more then I have.

YEAH, RC,

You can't tell what species it is by it's color are you thinking of H. erectus? If you're getting horses, they don't like extreme lighting, they tend to prefer cooler temps (74 is the warmest with many species requiring much colder tanks) and they "hitch" on to things so LPS corals are not usually a good choice. 24" is good but again, depends on the species, H. ingens grow up to 12 inches and require a tank that is 30-36 inches tall. You need to find out where these horses came from and be certain that they are captive bred. It is illegal to sell many species of wild caught horses in the States and wild caught horses have parasites that can infest your tank. Here is a good article about buying from a LFS seahorse.org - Advice You Might Be Given and here is an article about which LPS corals are safe to keep with horses: seahorse.org - Tankmates They rank the corals by "threat level" with 0 being totally safe and 4 being extremely dangerous.