Light I'm considering....have questions

fanmankc

Reefing newb
I am new to the saltwater world, and am in the process of setting up my first SW tank. I have read through many posts on this site and have realized how important having the right light is. I am looking to have no limits on what I can grow in this tank in the future, so..... would this light be sufficient for a 29 gal?

http://cgi.ebay.com/24-Metal-Halide...5|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:0|293:1|294:50

I would like to keep the cost of my light somewhat reasonable, but am willing to pay extra to avoid future roadblocks. I seem to be having a hard time locating a selection of T5 lights that fit the 4 watt rule that fit a 29 gal. Any suggestions and comments are welcome and much appreciated.

I am new to the saltwater world, and am in the process of setting up my first SW tank. I have read through many posts on this site and have realized how important having the right light is. I am looking to have no limits on what I can grow in this tank in the future, so..... would this light be sufficient for a 29 gal?

http://cgi.ebay.com/24-Metal-Halide...5|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:0|293:1|294:50

I would like to keep the cost of my light somewhat reasonable, but am willing to pay extra to avoid future roadblocks. I seem to be having a hard time locating a selection of T5 lights that fit the 4 watt rule that fit a 29 gal. Any suggestions and comments are welcome and much appreciated.

Make sure to ask the seller about the fixture and its ballasts. Many of these fixtures use cheap chinese made ballasts, and you can tell a huge difference in output. If it uses cheap bulbs, you're going to have to replace them much sooner than a fixture with better bulbs. Cheap ballasts also help that out. While a higher quality fixture costs more money, it'll pay for itself in the long run in not having to replace it or parts of it, and will have a higher resale when you go to upgrade.