lilreef's 20g - Help with water chemistry?

lilreefgirl

Reefing newb
Hi everyone,
Can I get some help on this 20g I have?
I am new at all of this, so I just need to know if I am doing this right.

I have had the rock and sand in it for a couple of weeks, and have been doing water tests every other day - all stable: Ammonia - 0, Nitrite - 0, Nitrate - 0, pH has been steady at 7.8, no change.
My LFS said this was fine. (since then I have been reading about how to increase that to a more stable alkalinity - but could use your expertise and experience!)
Since my levels looked good, they said I would be fine putting a couple of small fish in.
My son and I picked 2 damsels (yes, I know they are agressive, but since I dont plan on putting anything else into that tank, I thought it would be fine - The big 60g, once it's up an running in a couple of months will have all the bigger fishes and corals etc...)
One is an electric blue female (so far unnamed), and the other is a yellow tailed blue (but is actually purple, so I might have the "breed" wrong) I think it's a male. His name is "Prince".
The female is very social swimming all over the place & eating everything that she can get in her mouth!
The ?male? has been hiding since his arrival - not eating too much - he may be eating when the lights go out, but not 100% sure.

So, on to water chemistry:
I checked the levels today, and I am not sure if I should wait it out for a day or so, or do a water change, since the fishes just went in on Sunday.
pH - still low, 7.8
Ammonia - 1ppm
Nitrite - 0.25ppm
Nitrate - 1-5ppm
Phos - 0
Specific Gravity - 1.023 (only using hydrometer)
Those are the tests I have. Should I be testing anything else?

Your assistance would be greatly appreciated. I dont want either of them to become casualties!

Thanks!!

Here's a pic of my 20g.

Oh, and any name suggestions for my little electric blue? :)

Attachments

• lilreefs20g.jpg
    lilreefs20g.jpg
    57.6 KB · Views: 303