lionfish

trueirishfan616

Reefing newb
im just starting out with this whole salt water tank stuff. i really want a lionfish in my first tank. are lionfish a good fish to have with a reef tank?

Lionfish are considered "with caution" reef safe. IMO, it depends a lot on the type of fish you will be keeping with it. A lionfish is a predator and can strike pretty quickly if necessary. So if a fish can fit in the lionfish's mouth there is a possibility it could try and eat it. Sticking your hands in the aquairum is also something to think about when you have a lionfish in the tank. They do tame rather well and it wouldn't necessarily be attacking your hand but would be looking for food that it may think is in your hand. I have seen people work in tanks with the lionfish and they generally do their own thing while your hand is in the tank. They are beautiful creatures. I would read all I could about them and make an educated decision on what kind of reef I wanted to create with that fish.

Last edited:
They won't harm the corals, but any fish smaller than them, plus any shrimp will more than likely become lunch. But they are very neat fish, so if you want one just keep that in mind and plan accordingly

If they eat shrimp, how does anyone keep a CUC in their tank with these lionfish? Just curious. Any questions I ask are simply for knowledge reasons. I dont wanna come off as questioning your advice.

That is where some of the "with caution" comes in. They could eat some of your clean up crew but doesn't mean they will. Fish are just like people and have different personalities. From what I have witnessed especially with the Fuzzy Dwarf Lionfish they generally won't mess with the clean up crews or even other fish but there is never a guarantee.

My wife is terrified that the Lionfish will sting me and kill me. I've tried explaining to her that they wont kill me, but the sting will certainly suck. LOL