Live rock questions

Kragura

Reefing newb
Well I'm thinking of starting up a marine tank however I can see that the hobby is quite costly, and so I've decided to make DIY live rock to cut on cost's, I've been doing a lot of reading on the subject but there are a few things that are still a mystery to me.

1. do I have to use a special rock.

I have literally hundreds of tonnes worth of rocks that look allot like base rock and are incredibly porous would I be able to use these.

2. how do I make live rock "live".

how do I get all the little crabs bacteria plankton and mantis shrimp (well maybe not them) into my rocks.

remember I'm a complete newb to this so be nice.

If I were you I would buy 1 nice LR put that in yer tank and then if money is still tight buy dry LR for basically pennies on the dollar. let the 1 LR "seed" the rest, takes a little more time doing it like that but you will save money..I dont know where yer from but, around here LR goes from $5.99 for fiji to $7.99 a pound for branchy tonga

could you get a pic of the rock your talking about?That way we will be ablr to tell you if its safe to put in your tank
and, welcome to LR:Cheers:

I would just look on Craigslist for some LR..People are always tearing down their tanks. You'll save a bundle. How big of a tank are you planning? General rule of thumb is 1 to 2 lbs of LR per gallon. You should be able to find LR on Craigslist for 1.50-3.50 per lb. all day long. Make sure you or the guy that you're buying from has a scale to put it on. People always grossly exaggerate how many lbs. of rock they have.

Well I'm thinking of starting up a marine tank however I can see that the hobby is quite costly, and so I've decided to make DIY live rock to cut on cost's, I've been doing a lot of reading on the subject but there are a few things that are still a mystery to me.

Yes, it's an expensive hobby. So is golf, or boating, or 4x4 trucks, or motorcycles, or alcohol ..............................