live rock questions

Tifoez

Reefing newb
I found "70lbs" of live rock on craigslist, he is willing to sell, tote, rock, heater, and powerhead for $150..

Any insight as to what I should look for, if what is in the photo is worth it, etc..

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    42 KB · Views: 294
Looks more like 7 lbs in the pic and one base rock

Why is he selling it for $2 per pound, why is he trying to unload it? I would bleach it all anyway and start over with it so $2 a pound is good for base rock.

He is selling his 90 & stand.. apparently the buyer is making it freshwater, so he doesn't need the rock.. I thought it looked "light" also, and I have no experience.. ill add photos of the tank he tore down, but it doesn't add up..

My only thought is that the rock is better than fake concrete diy stuff

Yes, the rock is in a tote, with a heater and powerhead, I've made an appointment to check it out tomorrow.. also has a 29 gallon sump & skimmer for sale, but I don't have any details on either..

How long can I store it in the tote with heater and powerhead?? Also should I set salinity and heat at a certain parameter??

I'm have all the plumbing, but have to wait two weeks for skimmer & return pump..

Can I start my cycle with rodi water, & live rock adjusted to proper salinity, and temperatures, without live sand, chedomorpha, or maricle mud??

First don't waste your money on live sand, just get aragonite it will save you money and become live sand in your tank in no time.

And yes you can cycle your tank without sand also you don't want chato during your cycle it will die

Most people agree that miracle mud is a waste of money.

Ok, so plumb the system, fill with rodi, proper salinity, & temp, water flow, after ageing salt add rock, start cycle?? Does anyone know a link for cycling??