Living Rock, first post on forum

Fastlight

Semper FI
Hi, Im very new to saltwater fish keeping. I bought a used 75 gallon tank that was set up for saltwater, and was going to go fresh water. I was going to do that because i always had freshwater fish growing up and i am familiar with that. Now I am 26 and married with 2 kids. I want to try saltwater. I went to the library to get some books and have been reading up. My intrest in saltwater is now very high. Now i shall get to my point on this thread. They guy i bought the tank off of just took his live rock and the water that was in the tank at the time and put them into 2 big rubbermaid buckets and left them in his unheated basement. I figure all the stuff in there has to be dead. SO, i went to my lfs and he said i could use 1/3 bleach and 2/3 water soak the rock then wash them off with tap water and sundry them. I would then be able to use that as just rock then. Another lfs said that all i had to do was sundry them because most likely everything is dead and then they could be used as decoritve rock but not live rock because, " it took millions of years for mother nature to create that live rock and it wont happen in my aquarium" . So now i need more peoples opinions. What do i do. Can this rock everyagain be used as live rock, or should i let them go down the drain and just get new live rock. I know this hobby can be expensive but i value my little income and need to save as much as possible. Any help would be great. Thanks