Lookig for an Auto TopOff system

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by Reefrookie, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. Reefrookie

    Reefrookie Not so new anymore! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Reading, Pa USA
    Anyone have one of these or heard good or bad reports:
    Looking to use in my return of my sump.....Thanks in advance!

    AutoTopoff.com
     
    Reefrookie, Aug 28, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Reefrookie

    d2mini VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,630
    Likes Received:
    979
    Location:
    Houston
    I use one. I use the double in-sump version. Been working flawlessly since I installed it about 6 months ago. I have a top off container in an adjacent room. I have a john guest valve drilled into my sump. So the thin water line goes out of my top-off container via the small pump, through the wall, into my stand and into the john guest fitting and drips into my sump. I hear it come on every 15-30 minutes or so. Sounds like someone peeing in my sump for a few seconds. :D
     
    d2mini, Aug 28, 2009
    #2
    Reefrookie likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Reefrookie

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    ccCapt, Aug 28, 2009
    #3
    Reefrookie likes this.
  4. Reefrookie

    Reefrookie Not so new anymore! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Reading, Pa USA
    Thanks guys . Do you think that a aqualifter pump will serve the purpose? I have an extra one laying around.
     
    Reefrookie, Aug 28, 2009
    #4
  5. Reefrookie

    d2mini VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,630
    Likes Received:
    979
    Location:
    Houston
    I think my pump is a tiny little Sicce Micra pump. Tiny tiny.
     
    d2mini, Aug 28, 2009
    #5
  6. Reefrookie

    Wes888

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I don't have the need for a real ATO yet. I just hooked up my RO/DI unit with a float valve into my sump whenever I need to be away for a few days. :)

    My RO/DI unit is connected to a pressurized water storage tank. When I'm away, I turn off the water intake and just use whatever water stored in there for ATO. A way to avoid really bad flooding in case the float valve fail.
     
    Wes888, Aug 29, 2009
    #6
    Reefrookie likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.