Lots of questions lol!

crousseaux

Reefing newb
I am a complete noob with saltwater aquariums. and I have a lot of questions. Btw I don't plan on having a reef tank, but a fish only with live rock so I can easily move up to corals whenever.
  1. What is the minimum tank size for a saltwater aquarium?
  2. What type of filteration do I need? (canister, hang on the back, protein skimmer)
  3. What kind of substrate?
  4. Do i need pumps/power heads? If so, how powerful?
  5. Any special lighting?
  6. What should the ph value, gh, kh, temperature etc. be at?
  7. Say if I get a 90 gallon tank, how many fish can I put in? (Vague question i know, but like is there a 1 inch per gallon rule or something?)
  8. What are some good beginner fish species, and what to feed them?
  9. How do you cure live rock?
I know its a lot of questions, but I appreciate it if you could answer them thoroughly.

1. There is no minimum. The smaller the system the harder to be successful. Bigger systems are more stable.
2.Your rock will primarily be doing your filtration. Powerheads move your water so that it may be filtered. Sumps under your tank with skimmers,refugiums, or scrubbers are more important with corals not so much with fish only.
3. Aragonite sand with maybe a little live sand.
4. Lowest turnover rate is probably 20x per hour. Depending on what size tank you have determines how much flow.
5. No special lighting for fish. Knowing how this hobby works you may save money preparing for corals ahead of time.
6. PH - 7.8 -8.3
kh - 8 - 12
temp - 78
7.Not sure off the top of my head, with more rock and more flow you can keep more fish though.
8. Clownfish, damsel. Frozen mysis shrimp.
9.I just bought pre-cured live rock. A lot of people will buy a few pounds of premium live rock and the rest dry and let it seed the dry rock in your tank.

Last edited: