Low PH

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Steveg229, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. Steveg229

    Steveg229 Addicted

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Manhattan, IL USA
    So, for the last 2 years I thought my ph was low..around 7.4 - 7.6. I was using an api test kit. I assumed maybe it was bad regent and never thought anything of it because tank is and has been doing great. I got my Apex hooked up today :) and after calibrating the ph probe, it says the ph is at 7.46. What would cause my ph to always be this low? Do I need to raise it? I am a little confused to say the least....

    90 Gallon tank- 20 gallon water changes every 2 weeks

    Temp 78.9
    Salinity 1.025
    Calcium 500
    Alk 10
    Magnesium 1300
     
    Steveg229, Jan 4, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Steveg229

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Co2?
    They are just numbers, if nothing is wrong i would not change it.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Jan 4, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Steveg229

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    What are trates and phates? Dirty substrate.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Jan 4, 2015
    #3
  4. Steveg229

    Steveg229 Addicted

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Manhattan, IL USA
    undetectable....have always been this way?? I run gfo and carbon in a reactor. would dirty substrate make ph low?
     
    Steveg229, Jan 4, 2015
    #4
  5. Steveg229

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    No.... i don't believe so. I think you would see alot of other issues.
    Flow is the biggest. Low flow can cause co2 to build causing the pH to drop.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Jan 4, 2015
    #5
  6. Steveg229

    Steveg229 Addicted

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Manhattan, IL USA
    I have 2 jebao rw-8's now, so flow is def not an issue. I will recheck params to confirm....maybe raise alk? Should i start dosing kalkwasser?
     
    Steveg229, Jan 4, 2015
    #6
  7. Steveg229

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    I would not raise alk off 10.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Jan 4, 2015
    #7
  8. Steveg229

    Steveg229 Addicted

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Manhattan, IL USA
    Retested
    Cal 500
    Alk 11
    Mag 1300
    Ph 7.6

    I did 20 gallon water change this morning and tested after couple hours.
     
    Steveg229, Jan 4, 2015
    #8
  9. Steveg229

    JohnVH Reefer Madness VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    +1 mariobrothersleeve
    I would not raise the ALK your level is already fine. Natural sea water has a PH of 7.5-8.4 so your PH is not far off of the mark. Just as mariobrothersleeve mentioned that if there does not seem to be an obvious problem I would not over think it. Also PH levels change from one part of the day to the other (are you seeing any kind of swing in the level at a different time of day or night.) Sometimes just opening a window for a while can help with the PH by removing some of the CO2 from the room. You can even put some plants in the room if you don't already have some to help absorb some of the CO2 in the area.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015
    JohnVH, Jan 4, 2015
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.