Maiden's hair plant

Discussion in 'Identification' started by oleolson1, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. oleolson1

    oleolson1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Has anyone heard of this stuff? I think I have it in my tank. When I moved a couple years ago, I neglected my tank and this stuff took over. It grew over the top of my rock and it was about an inch long or more in some spots. I can pull it off in clumps when it gets big enough but I don't like that solution. I've been fighting it ever since and am finally looking for a solution. I will post some pictures when I get home. My knowledge is not very good, so any schooling is very welcomed, good or bad.:frustrat:

    Biocube 14
     
    oleolson1, Feb 17, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. oleolson1

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    I have heard of it, but its more likely that you have just regular hair algae. But any algae feeds off of nitrates in the water column, so the first step in fighting them is identifying why you have nitrates.

    What sort of water are you using, what fish do you have, how often are you feeding, what are you feeding and how often are you doing water changes?
     
    little_fish, Feb 17, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. oleolson1

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    +1 Little Fish...That's hair algae. Stop using tap water for your tank...That will help right off the bat.

    But we need more information in regard to your water tests and equipment.
     
    PRC, Feb 18, 2011
    #3
  4. oleolson1

    oleolson1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    I have two clowns, a damsel and just got a blenny. Two turbo snails and a bunch of hermit crabs. I feed in the morning. I'm going to cut out the flake food or use it sparingly, from what I have learned by reading posts on here. I'm doing a daily water change, about 10-15% to try and get my nitrates down. My ammonia and nitrites are good, just the nitrates were high.

    Thanks for the replies, I'll take all your advice.
     
    oleolson1, Feb 18, 2011
    #4
  5. oleolson1

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,849
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    You may also want to look into getting a Sea Hare. They will eat the algae, however be prepared to pull it out and return it to the store once your hair is gone.
     
    fastrd400, Feb 18, 2011
    #5
  6. oleolson1

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    That is a lot of fish for only 14 gallons. I personally wouldnt put more than two in there. That is part of the reason you have nitrates. Feeding flaked food is also contributing to that.
     
    little_fish, Feb 18, 2011
    #6
    oleolson1 likes this.
  7. oleolson1

    oleolson1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    I had 5 fish total when I first started. The goby died because he never got any food with the damsels and the clowns taking everything. The levels were always good with all those fish. I won't be getting any more though, 4 is enough. I'm going to try the other stuff first and then I'll think about the fish levels. Thanks for the input.
     
    oleolson1, Feb 18, 2011
    #7
  8. oleolson1

    oleolson1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    I should also add, some tank neglect most likely, if not definately, added to higher levels. I now have the time I need to put into the tank so right now it's kind of a rehabilitation. Thanks again.
     
    oleolson1, Feb 18, 2011
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.