Mandarin Goby @ 6 months ?

kevinsimons

Reefing newb
My tank is 6 months old, and the last fish I'm planning on putting into it is a mandarin goby - pending establishment of a good, healthy copepod population.

I think I'm there - I see 'em everywhere - on rocks, at the base of corals, in the hair algae (which thanks to Marine SAT is diminishing)... I feed rotifers to the tank 1x/week - which I understand feeds the copepods...

Anybody have any thoughts on whether its too soon, or is the tank ready for the mandarin? I'd prefer to get the damn copepods OFF THE GLASS - as they're kinda ugly...

I think it sounds safe to add one, but I'm no expert on these fish. I would add one and then if it does eat the pods too fast you can by pods by the bottle.

An important question is: do you have a refugium. If you don't, then the mandarin will quickly eat any pods in your main tank. They eat a lot. In any case, you should only buy a mandarin that will eat frozen food. Make them feed it frozen food in the store, and make sure that it eats. This is the singlemost important thing when buying a mandarin, in my opinion.

Thanks for the always-good advice, everybody. I'll let you know when I find the frozen-food eating critter and get him acclimated. happy thanksgiving, everybody.:Cheers:

I tried one about a year ago and it lived about 2 weeks. They are tough buggers to keep unless they are eating frozen food AND do not have a lot of competition for food. They tend to be slow eaters.

-Doc

I've been hesitant to make a comment.Here's my experience with mandarins,which I been successful with since the mid 90's.I had one for over 6 years.