Mantis or Kool Algae?

Grassman

Reefing newb
I was looking at my tank last night with a flashlight and saw something either coming from under a rock or growing on the rock that looked like the picture below. Tonight I looked in the same spot with the lights on, and my LED flashlight but it was gone. Any suggestion what it might be? Sorry I'm not an artist and at 1:30am didn't want to wake the wife up getting the camera.

207-Identify.jpg

:chicken: CHICKEN :chicken:

On IMPORTANT issues like this,you should throw a pitcher of ice water on her just to have her witness the event.:mrgreen:

But I'm guessing mantis.:Cheers:

:chicken: CHICKEN :chicken:

On IMPORTANT issues like this,you should throw a pitcher of ice water on her just to have her witness the event.:mrgreen:

LOL! She took a phone book to me for letting Phil sniff one of the baby bunnies. She a mean woman!! LOL!

could very easily see if u have a mantis.....take a big piece of krill and put on skewer, put in tank, wave it around, and if something comes and snatches it u have one, if not, i bet u dont. you would hear some bashing going on and if he's a spearer he would be trying to make a home in your substartate. id suggest u keep your hands out of your tank till u find out what it is

could very easily see if u have a mantis.....take a big piece of krill and put on skewer, put in tank, wave it around, and if something comes and snatches it u have one, if not, i bet u dont. you would hear some bashing going on and if he's a spearer he would be trying to make a home in your substartate. id suggest u keep your hands out of your tank till u find out what it is

I hear snapping every now and then, but I haven't lost any hermit, emeralds, snails. Well I have, but their shells have never been smashed. Guess I'm buying a shrimp ring tomorrow.