Min size for refugium sump for 110G

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by Ariel110G, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. Ariel110G

    Ariel110G

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    So it looks like I found a great deal on a refugium sump on craigslist that come with light (looks like coralife) and pump & they guy thinks he has the over flow box he just needs to look for it, he is not sure what size it is, from the picture, to me it looks like 30G, So I will like to know what is the min size sump I can go with get for my 110G.
     
    Ariel110G, Jul 12, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ariel110G

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    There is no minimum size really but, you want to make sure ts big enough to fit all of your equipment and still handle the overflow from your tank. I definitely wouldn't go any smaller then a 30 but, bigger is always better.
     
    BL1, Jul 12, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ariel110G

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    +1 Brian...there is no set number of gallons. Bigger is better, but as long as it fits in your stand.
     
    Smitty, Jul 12, 2011
    #3
  4. Ariel110G

    Waddi Shenanigans? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    As well, the more water, the more stable your parameters
     
    Waddi, Jul 12, 2011
    #4
  5. Ariel110G

    Ariel110G

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    Well I did get the refugium sump with a pump for $40 from this guy on craigslist but its more like a 5 gallon sump. I still took it because I'm thinking of converting my 29G freshwater into saltwater soon. So I guess for now ill use it on my 110G & then ill move it to my 29G & them ill make a bigger sump 30 or 40 long sump for my 110G, dose that make sense? will a 5 gallon sump be able to handle my 110G?:question:

    P.S. I still need to get a overflow box & new pump to handle the110G
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011
    Ariel110G, Jul 17, 2011
    #5
  6. Ariel110G

    Distemper

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mary Esther, Fl
    Like Brian and Smitty said. There's no minimum size, but I highly doubt a 5g would be able to hold any worthwhile equipment and with a DT that big the extra water in the system wouldn't even be noticed.
     
    Distemper, Jul 17, 2011
    #6
  7. Ariel110G

    marcah

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    ma
    I agree a 5 gal on a tank that size wont help it or you at all.. I would just wait until you get the the larger tank and keep up on the water changes until then..
     
    marcah, Jul 17, 2011
    #7
  8. Ariel110G

    DAvis Reefer Madness

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ariel, I have a 20 gallon sump on my 65g setup. It is just big enough to house my skimmer and heater and overflow on one side, small refugium and light in the center, and a Mag 7 return pump on the other side. I would go with the 40 if it fits!
    Good luck!
     
    DAvis, Jul 17, 2011
    #8
  9. Ariel110G

    Ariel110G

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    ok so i get you guys its small, but just to let you know im just doing it so i can have a small refugium with some macro alge. My skimmer is a hang over and im runing 2 110 aquaclear filters. but i gusse ill just work on gettin a biger one.
     
    Ariel110G, Jul 17, 2011
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.