Minimum Shallow Tank Height?

Discussion in 'Fish Tanks' started by Banana Man, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. Banana Man

    Banana Man

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    I am getting a custom build shallow tank with the following dimensions:

    Width 180cm x Height 45cm x Depth 53cm (71" x 18" x 21").

    Does anyone think 45cm is too short for the height? Are their any obvious problems i will run into with this type of setup? I want to house all types of Corals so dont want to find i have limited what i can put in the tank. I plan on having a small amount of Live Rock so there should be a fair bit of space.

    Thanks!
     
    Banana Man, Sep 8, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Banana Man

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    How little LR are you thinking of having? Your tank size makes it about 116 gallons so you should be at least one pound per gallon.
     
    Aquarian, Sep 8, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Banana Man

    Banana Man

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    I plan on using a large amount of MicroMec in the sump to allow for the small amount of LR
     
    Banana Man, Sep 8, 2013
    #3
  4. Banana Man

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    That product seems to be a good product for fresh water, not sure it would be a good replacement for live rock. Interesting idea though.
     
    Aquarian, Sep 9, 2013
    #4
  5. Banana Man

    Sakura2282 Reef lover!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    I believe nothing can really replace live rock in a saltwater tank, you should go with more LR instead.
     
    Sakura2282, Sep 9, 2013
    #5
  6. Banana Man

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    +1 Sakura

    There's really not a replacement for rock in the display.
     
    ErinCahir, Sep 9, 2013
    #6
  7. Banana Man

    Banana Man

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    What about having a good bit of LR in my sump?
     
    Banana Man, Sep 9, 2013
    #7
  8. Banana Man

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    You can use LR in your sump to reduce the amount in your display.
     
    Aquarian, Sep 9, 2013
    #8
  9. Banana Man

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    Rock not only provides the necessary filtration but also hiding places for a lot of the things we stock.

    That's something that you need to consider, as well.
     
    ErinCahir, Sep 10, 2013
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.