Moving

kimoy

CERTIFIED BUM
:frustrat: :sfish: Does anybody has any ideas or suggestion on how can i move my 55 gal all glass reef tank to a higher stand safely. I was planning to just do a 30-40 gal water change and move my tank at the same time to lighten the weight, is this safe. the move will be lifting the tank for about 5-7 inches and slide it to the stand next to it.

anything is greatly appreciated.

Even if you take most of the water out, it will still be pretty heavy, especially if you have live rock in and a deep sand bed in it. I've never done it myself, but I would think that lifting it off its stand even while partially filled would be pretty risky... But like I said, I've never done it before.

If you are only moving it to a new stand next to it I would build a couple of braces and jack up the tank with the old stand to the right height (after you have taken as much out of the tank as possible) then slide the tank from one to the other. This will put the least amount of stress on the tank possible. Just my :twocents:

I would still bag my fish and coral to be safe.A massive water change my have bad effect on your water parameters.If get either some 5 gallon or trash cans(new of course) you could use a gravel vac to get almost the water into the bucket or cans and transfer it back later with same process reversed.Now if think you and some friends can move it try sliding so you can get under it.You can also move some the top rock and keep your base in place.