My 10 Gallon Sump for 55 Gallon Aquarium

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by ltkenbo, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. ltkenbo

    ltkenbo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    Allright so I decided to start a separate thread (my other one is here: https://www.livingreefs.com/new-some-questions-photos-too-t20842p25.html) about the sump I am building.

    I used a 10 gallon tank from petco and some glass from lowes. For the entrance corner part, I am going to use a filter sponge, carbon, and biomedia. The first section will hold the skimmer and heater and the second section the return pump. I am thinking about making my own overflow box also. Oh and how would I go about securing my coralife skimmer to the floor of the sump, silicone? Here's the pics:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
    ltkenbo, Oct 3, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ltkenbo

    fishsticks No clue about reefs

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    los angeles, CA
    looks good sheesh you piled on that silicone, :^:
     
    fishsticks, Oct 4, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ltkenbo

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I was gonna say, I don't think those seams are going to leak!! :)
     
    Bifferwine, Oct 4, 2009
    #3
  4. ltkenbo

    Reefrookie Not so new anymore! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Reading, Pa USA
    Gonna be a lot of action in that little tank......nice job
     
    Reefrookie, Oct 4, 2009
    #4
  5. ltkenbo

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Good job!
     
    dcantucson, Oct 4, 2009
    #5
  6. ltkenbo

    Grassman Learning on the fly!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Tillsonburg, Ont. Canada
    You mean to tell me I didn't have to build a 35 for my sump, I could have used a 10? Build looks good. It's hard to silicone in tight spaces and make it look pretty.
     
    Grassman, Oct 4, 2009
    #6
  7. ltkenbo

    Alexander

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7,208
    Likes Received:
    558
    Location:
    Boise ID
    Grassman, you dont NEED to. but the general rule of thumb is the larger you can make it the better. The large your overall water volume is the easier the perameters are to keep in order, and the less you will need to top off for evaporation too.

    BTW good job on the sump. looks like plenty of silicone! :)
     
    Alexander, Oct 4, 2009
    #7
  8. ltkenbo

    Grassman Learning on the fly!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Tillsonburg, Ont. Canada
    here I thought I just wasted my time, but I saved some.

    Thank you. only a tube and a half between that and the tank.
     
    Grassman, Oct 4, 2009
    #8
  9. ltkenbo

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    aint nothing wrong with a 10 sump, i ran a 10 sump/fuge combined unit for the first, um, 6 months or so when i first got my tank...

    it still gives you a place to hang a HOB skimmer, heaters, ato, all that kinda stuff...
     
    project5k, Oct 5, 2009
    #9
  10. ltkenbo

    ltkenbo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    Allright so now I need an overflow box. I'm gonna buy one, thought about making one, but no. Anyways so I was looking at this one: Reef Aquarium Filtration: Eshopps Overflow Boxes (the pf-300) one. Anyone ever used it or heard about it? If you have any suggestions for other boxes let me know but I would like something in this price range.

    Also, what would be a good pump that isn't too expensive that would do the job. The top of my tank from the floor is about 4 feet, obviously it wouldn't be traveling all 4 of those feet since the sump is a foot high.
     
    ltkenbo, Oct 7, 2009
    #10
  11. ltkenbo

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    well on the box, i have what i believe is exactly the same thing, and i've not had any problems with it what-so-ever, once i got enough flow going through it...

    as for a pump, you might look at the harbor freight pumps, thier cheaper than the big name units, and from what i have seen so far in my own testing, they last and are just as reliable...

    according to my math, on your 55, your gonna want between 165 and 275 gallons per hour through your sump, roughly, so i would suggest going with something that has about 300 gallons per hour at about 3 foot of lift, (tank height - sump height)

    - Harbor Freight Tools - Quality Tools at the Lowest Prices

    this pump is just a tad big according to the spec sheets i got from the manuf. but you can allways turn down the flow with a ball valve....
     
    project5k, Oct 7, 2009
    #11
  12. ltkenbo

    ltkenbo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    So as far as mounting the skimmer in the sump, silicone it to the floor?
     
    ltkenbo, Oct 8, 2009
    #12
  13. ltkenbo

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,996
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    I would just set it in. That way you can take it out for cleaning.

    You can get some rubber gasket material to put under it to help keep the vibration to a minimum
     
    bjohanson1234, Oct 8, 2009
    #13
  14. ltkenbo

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    i zip tied mine to a little stand i made outta eggcrate, so that its at the right depth of water...
     
    project5k, Oct 8, 2009
    #14
  15. ltkenbo

    ltkenbo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    No it'll tip over believe me.
     
    ltkenbo, Oct 9, 2009
    #15
  16. ltkenbo

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    show me pictures of them together, even if your just holding it by hand for the picture....
     
    project5k, Oct 9, 2009
    #16
  17. ltkenbo

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,996
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    I would definantly not glue it in place so that you cant remove it for maintanance. What happens if the pump goes out? Or you need to clean it?

    Post a pic of the sump and skimmer so we can try to help
     
    bjohanson1234, Oct 9, 2009
    #17
  18. ltkenbo

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    didnt i just say that?
    like 10 hours before you did? :mrgreen:
     
    project5k, Oct 9, 2009
    #18
  19. ltkenbo

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,996
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    Maybe you did
    And maybe you didnt
    I dont feel like reading back posts when I have more important things to do like this or that.
    :mrgreen:
     
    bjohanson1234, Oct 9, 2009
    #19
  20. ltkenbo

    ltkenbo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    I'll post a pic when I can. If the pump breaks I'll just remove it from the tubing and replace it, I'm not saying glue the pump, just the skimmer body. Pump is just a simple powerhead connected through poly tubing.
     
    ltkenbo, Oct 9, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. necat
    Replies:
    109
    Views:
    16,118
    necat
    Mar 22, 2014
  2. janfromboone
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,392
    janfromboone
    Feb 15, 2017
  3. Jenny mitchell

    What are these growing out of my rock?

    Jenny mitchell, Nov 20, 2016, in forum: New to Reefing
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,081
    Big K
    Nov 24, 2016
  4. garydm
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    412
    garydm
    May 12, 2017
  5. toddyp

    i have a deep bed in my refugium

    toddyp, Dec 20, 2016, in forum: Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,161
    SantaMonica
    Mar 2, 2017
  6. Adam Ross

    DIY T5 retrofit for my T247 LEDs

    Adam Ross, Jan 12, 2017, in forum: Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    407
    Adam Ross
    Jan 12, 2017
  7. Jhonathan

    Something growing on my live rock

    Jhonathan, Jan 14, 2017, in forum: Identification
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    827
    monique
    Jan 15, 2017
  8. dcom

    Is my light ok for a 30 gallon reef?

    dcom, Jan 27, 2017, in forum: Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,116
Loading...