My 29g Biocube is leaking, How do I transfer everything to a new tank?

mrgster5

Reefing newb
I have a 3 year old Biocube tank that I adopted. I am totally new to this hobby and am not sure what to do. The tank is leaking at the top and I need to transfer everything to a new tank. Including an 1 1/2 inch thick live sand, 30# of live rock, 4 fish, shrimps, snails, crabs, starfish, oh my. How do I attempt this? I don't know where to start. If anyone can offer advice I would greatly appreciate it.

Get some 5 gallon buckets, big plastic tubs, brute trash can. Anything so you can hold the tank water, and a bunch of the stuff. Like put sand and water in one container, rocks in another, and fish and everything else in a third one, for example. Then just set up your new tank, putting everything into it. You could go directly from the biocube, but since its leaking I would move everything into containers to avoid water loss.

The very first thing you will want to do is to fill some buckets with clean tank water(before the rock and sand is disturbed). Then transfer as many inhabitants into the clean water as you can. Then start transferring your rock. Then capture anybody you might have missed. Then get the sand and the rest of the water out. If your livestock is going to be in buckets for longer than an hour or so I would add heaters/aeration to their buckets.
Also, are you moving to a bigger/smaller/same size tank?

Also, i wouldnt just transfer the sand. It needs to cleaned if you are going to reuse it or you should just buy new sand. Transferring a sand bed that has been siting around for a long time can cause a mini cycle because you stir up all the junk that has collect in it or it can lead to a nitrate issue that will take a while with many waterchanges to clear up.