My First dumb question

Axegod

Axegod
First of all, I have been reading this forum, and other sources - but could not wade through the posts to have a specific answer to my preambled question.

I am a complete newbie, have a 45 G tank that 36"W 24"H by 12"D. I understand the basics of aquascaping and plan on using adequate water flow to prevent algae and debris build up. I am looking to buy some reef rock and make some nifty design for fish and coral.

Q: Should I stack my rocks on or towards the back of the tank to ensure better visbility of the criters - ie) keep the action in front? Or will the criters do as they please and move and hide regardless of my good intentions and thats par for the course for all tank? Keep in mind the 12" tank depth.

PS The tank is currently empty and I will need to cycle once I get reef rock + Live rock. I plan on learning a lot between the time the cycle is done and the first corals/fish move in.

Cheers

Last edited:
First off, make sure the rocks are on the glass bottom first, then put sand in. If your rocks are resting on top of the sand, fish and snails can cause a rockslide, which can even break your glass. I know that has nothing to do with your question, but it's an important thing to point out -- rocks need to be placed directly on the bottom, not on top of sand. :)