My First Reef - Filtering Questions

webdizzy

Reefing newb
I have several years experience in the aquarium hobby, most w/ freshwater but my last couple of years I had converted to FOWLR (I'm guess that means "Fish Only With Live Rock"?). I took the tank down a few years ago due to lack of time and money. Now that my kids are grown, I'm considering getting back into it.

My last setup was a 46 Bow Front with an Emperor power filter and live rock. Never had a skimmer or sump or anything else. I'm considering trying a reef this time with the same tank but want to improve the filtering. I want to go slow with this setup, doing fish only at first, but want to do it right so I can move into invertebrates and corals.

There's so much info on the web, but it can get rather confusing, especially in regards to filtering. Some people say live rock and skimmer is all you need. Others are adamant about sumps. I like the ease of canister filters, but it seems they are advised against on these forums. Some say to mix live sand with crushed coral, others say something else. Etc. I'd like to keep it simple and not too expensive, and am not crazy about having to build or buy a sump.

Would live rock/sand and a good HOT skimmer (such as the AquaC Remora) really work well as some have said in these forums, or do they mean LR and a skimmer added to a sump? What are the advantages, concerns and potential problems with a sump?

What if I did without a sump and used:
Live Rock
AquaC Remora HOT Skimmer
Marineland C-360 Canister Filter (would this be needed?)

Oh, and what about powerheads? Do I need to add any to the above if I've got water flowing from the skimmer and filter? How many?

Thanks for any input!

Last edited:
Sumps are not needed. They increase the water volume and add a bit more stability.
The skimmer you mentioned has been recomended to me for my 30 gallon tank. I havent purchased one yet due to lack of funds.