My First Reef Tank (29Gallons)

BryanS

Reefing newb
Well This is my first tank. It has been up and running less than a month. It is still cycling so I don't have any fish yet. I know its not much to look at now but it is going to be a long process and hopefully before long I can get it looking pretty good. All I have in the tank right now is 25lbs of live sand and 20lbs of base rock, and 2 live rocks. I also have 2 turbo snails and two hermit crabs to help with the algae that is starting to pop up. I have one power head on the way a Koralia #2. I am now saving up for my lights and skimmer. http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=3578+3733+13822+18486&pcatid=18486 These are the lights I want do yall think that they will be able to support a wide array of stuff.

I'm still very new at this so if yall have any tips or suggestions please let me have them.

Attachments

• CIMG0203.jpg
    CIMG0203.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 347
  • CIMG0229.jpg
    CIMG0229.jpg
    33.8 KB · Views: 372
here are a couple more pics

Attachments

• CIMG0232.jpg
    CIMG0232.jpg
    25.5 KB · Views: 321
  • CIMG0233.jpg
    CIMG0233.jpg
    22.1 KB · Views: 305
  • CIMG0239.jpg
    CIMG0239.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 388
Your dry rock will be seeded in no time. It looks like you're off to a good start!

Those lights will be perfect for your tank.

Very good start, light system is an excellent choice for your 29. Should be fine for most all you want to keep. Keep us posted.

Well I painted the back of my tank today. I decided to go with blue but I wish it would have turned out a little darker but I like it. Now that I have that out of the way I'm just waiting on my powerhead to get here. Then I can start saving up for my lights and skimmer.

Attachments

• CIMG0258.jpg
    CIMG0258.jpg
    33.5 KB · Views: 350