need algae advise......again

Melonbob

Reef enthusiast
I'm still battling this green algae...The best I can describe it is it looks like red slime, all over my rocks and sandbed now.....but it's lime green. no hair, just looks like red slime on the rocks and sand and looks like green dust on the glass. I have been running phosguard and charcoal for about two months now, I've only used RO/DI water since October. I was very low in alk and calcium, but have been dosing and my numbers are headed back up. I just want this algae gone. I can't even suck it up, it stirs up when I try to vaccuum the sandbed, but I don't believe its actually making it out the other end. I even ran a full bottle of Marine SAT, but the stuff just won't go away. should I change out the phosguard more often?? Use more of it? Or try something like chemi-clean or whatever it's called. Thanks guys

I believe you have cyano algae which is very common and most new tanks go thru the normal algae phase (brown, green, red).

The best solution for me was increasing my water changes from once per week to twice per week. I did this for about 2 weeks and algae was gone.

How much livestock do you currently have? The more you have the more water quality issues you will have so increasing your water changes will ensure you get good quality water and less algae.

can you post some test results? Phosphate, nitrate, nitrite, amonnia, temps, how long are your lights on. that kinda stuff.

yeah, I've done this all with the regulars too, testing is normal amm, trites, phos, all at zero. Trates less than 5, calcium is averaging 400, alk was very low, less than 2. Turned out I had a bad test kit. I've been dosing since I found out and numbers are coming back up mow. Lights are on about 8 hrs a day, and have been since I cycled about 5 mths ago. I'm really wondering if its a flow thing, it's always seemed confined to the front of the tank....